Sunday, June 13, 2010

NCAA Conference Shuffle: Pac-10 & Colorado are the first to make moves; Nebraska & Big Ten follow suit

The Big 12 had its first team jump ship on June 10th as the Colorado University Buffaloes took the Pac-10 up on their offer to join UCLA, USC, Oregon, and the rest of the teams in the Pacific-10 Conference. With this move, the Pac-10 will most likely be looking to extend offers to other Big 12 schools like Texas, Texas Tech, Texas A&M, Oklahoma, and Oklahoma State in order to create the superpower Pac-16. CU took the leap to the west coast with a unanimous vote and excitement emanating from Boulder. The move will be effective for the 2012 season.

With the potential for five other teams making the move to the Pac-10, it seems as if the five remaining Big 12 teams (Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Baylor & Iowa Sate) might need to find a new conference home. But incase you haven't heard, Missouri is "proud to be a member of the Big 12", which they've made clear in every statement the school has given.

The day after the CU move, Nebraska confirmed their move to the Big Ten. This move will be effective for the 2011 season, and now makes the already 11-team Big Ten conference technically the new 'Big 12'. The Big Ten hasn't added any new members since 1990 when Penn State joined. According to commissioner Jim Delany, the Big Ten is going to put expanding the conference beyond Nebraska on hold for the next 12 to 18 months, but says there will definitely be a new Big Ten Championship game starting in 2011, potentially splitting the 12-team conference into two 6-team divisions.

As far as the Colorado / Nebraska rivalry goes, maybe we'll see the two teams play against each other in "The Granddaddy of Them All".

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving a message! xox