Friday, December 10, 2010

The 2010 NCAA College Football Awards

Being that the NCAA College Football Awards aired the night after I took my third law school exam and my boyfriend and I were exchanging early Christmas presents [hint: he's great & mine came in a little blue box =)], I chose not to watch the award presentations, figuring it'd be just as easy to update about after the fact.

But first, let me touch on Lee Corso being honored. I know some people find him irritating, but I think he is simply great and a staple of the college football world. If you didn't get to watch the awards show, the Corso contribution is well worth the watch and I'll even admit it, I teared up when I saw it [ESPN has a full length video here]. Thank you Lee Corso, for all of your great contributions to the sport of college football.

As for the awards, here is a run-down list of the award and its recipient:

Maxwell Award - Outstanding Player: Cam Newton, Auburn
Walter Camp Award - Player of the Year: Cam Newton, Auburn
Home Depot Award - Coach of the Year: Gene Chizik, Auburn
Doak Walker Award - National Running Back: LaMichael James, Oregon
 Davey O'Brien Award - National Quarterback: Cam Newton, Auburn
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award - Outstanding Sr. QB: Scott Tolzien, WI
Fred Biletnikoff Award - Outstanding WR: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
John Mackey Award - Outstanding Tight End: DJ Williams, Arkansas
Outland Trophy - Outstanding Interior Lineman: Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin
Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award - Outstanding Lineman: Nick Fairley, Auburn
Rimington Trophy - Outstanding Center: Jake Kirkpatrick, TCU
Chuck Bednarik Award - Defensive Player of the Year: Patrick Peterson, LSU
Bronko Nagurski Award - Defensive Player of the Year: Da'Quan Bowers, Clem
Dick Butkus Award - Outstanding Linebacker: Von Miller, Texas A&M
Jim Thorpe Award - Outstanding Defensive Back: Patrick Peterson, LSU
Lou Groza Award - Collegiate Place-Kicker: Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State
Ray Guy Award - Outstanding Punter: Chas Henry, Florida
Ted Hendricks Award - Defensive End of the Year: Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson
Campbell Trophy - Top Scholar-Athlete: Sam Ocho, Texas

The Heisman Trophy winner is announced tomorrow night, but there won't be an update from me about it until later since I will be celebrating my 23rd birthday with my friends tomorrow =). Enjoy your weekend everyone!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving a message! xox